Week 5 / June 12-18, 2017

Rankings (From Best to Fine)

The Beguiled (1971)

Since there are an awful lot of internet think pieces floating around about this exact sentiment, I no longer feel compelled to promote the excellence of this film. I will just tease my pending take–it has a lot to do with the screenwriters and archival material–for when my dissertation is finally published as a book in the summer of 2030.

Speed (1994)

I’m having “profound” thoughts about ’90s, especially early ’90s, cinema lately, but my main take away is that I love (and severely miss) the practical locations and fx.

47 Meters Down (2017)

Always bemused by people who take a film like this to task because of the protagonist’s motivations. Personally, the only motivation I need a protagonist in a film like this to possess is the desire to get close to but not totally eaten–at least not right away–massive sharks.

Seeing this with a rabid crowd at the premiere in Westwood, from a balcony with the cast hundreds of feet below, was an added treat.

Killer Party (1986)

“It’s The Exorcist meets Friday the 13th meets Animal House!”

killer-party-1986-movie-6

“Say again?”

Gimme Danger (2016)

The films of JJ are something I enjoy–I mean, I’m hip, people–though he could’ve brought more pizzazz to this. It helped that I love The Stooges and Iggy, in whatever iteration, and could listen to Jim Osterberg talk for days. His fractured take on his American life is delicious.

Rankings (Lesser Coppola, Sofia)

Lick the Star (1998)

Seeing Sofia’s debut short projected at the New Beverly Cinema before her latest feature, with the filmmaker and Tarantino sitting feet away, is sort of a once-in-a-lifetime thing.* Loved the spiky verve of this short; it makes you excited anew for Sofia. How could it not? 

*”Sort of” because living in LA and frequenting repertory theaters means this happens about once every six months.

The Beguiled (2017)

I’ll need to see this again, in far less (ahem) beguiling settings–forgive me!–to be able to objectively assess. Liked it, though I definitely didn’t love it and I’m not entirely sure why.

Marie Antoinette (2006)

Actually had to stop the DVD viewing of this for quality–and not of the technical variety–issues. Ended up enjoying it more than those inauspicious beginnings would suggest, but would still categorize it as “Genuinely disappointing.”

Leave a Reply

