Week 4 / June 5-11, 2017

Rankings (From Quite Strong to Strong to Pretty Ok to Meh)

Lillies of the Field (1963)

I love Poitier because I’m a goddamn American film fan, but I’m not quite sure how I built that foundation for love without witnessing the pure joy that is him buddying up with German nuns near my beloved Tucson, AZ. (Even recollecting about this movie made me want to quit writing this post to re-watch it–should you wonder how much I enjoyed it.)

Honeysuckle Rose (1980)

Willie Nelson performs himself.

The Seduction of Joe Tynan (1979)

Alan Alda’s sexuality is never something you think you’re interested in, and this movie won’t convince you otherwise, yet, despite that, it remains a minor treat.

The Black Cat (1934)

All hail Karloff. 

Looking for Mr. Goodbar (1977)

Minorly obsessed with this film/book–I read it one summer in Canton, OH, and that is definitely as weird as all that sounds. The film doesn’t fully achieve its lofty aims, but that doesn’t mean it won’t wreck you by the end.

For Pete’s Sake (1974)

If this movie was just its opening credits, it’d crack my top 200 films of the 1970s. (I realize that doesn’t sound impressive, but, as an aficionado of ’70s film, cracking my top 150 is pretty difficult.)

january2013forpetessake15

Beyond the Gates (2016)

So pleased to see Eddie Brandt’s in a film! And honestly, given the budget and the limitations of an amateur production, they strung together a decent film. Naturally, like anyone who haunts Eddie Brandt’s, I assume I could’ve done a much, much better job.

If You’re Not in the Obit, Eat Breakfast (2017)

I love old people. I especially love old comedians. I, in particular, love the old comedians featured here (Reiner, Brooks, Lear). And the other old non-comedians, who teach us stuff about the human spirit and whatnot. I would’ve gladly watched the 60 Minutes piece on the above. Sadly, they instead released it in the form of a 90 minute documentary.

 

Leave a Reply

